Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute Takes Top Honors at 2011 MED Student Design Competition

Report is courtesy of Brad Kinsey, University of New Hampshire

For the 2011 MED Student Design Competition which took place at Oregon State University during the 2011 MSEC conference, there were nine finalists. The top three winners were:

  1. M1A1 Abram’s Tank Model by Alex Weisser from Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute
  2. Wireless Real-Time Data Acquisition System for Process Instrumentation and Closed-Loop Control of Friction Stir Welding by Axel Fehrenbacher from the University of Wisconsin – Madison and
  3. Automation of Non-Destructive Ultrasonic Transmission Scanning of Piping and Tubing by Matthew Standley from the University of New Hampshire.

These participants were awarded cash prizes of $1000, $750, and $500 respectively.

The other finalists were:

Lightweight Engineering Focused Redesign, Manufacture, and Validation of an Unsprung Vehicle Component for Total Life-Cycle Cost Savings by Mathew Kuttolamadom and Joshua Jones from Clemson University-ICAR, Electromagnetic Metal Forming Machine by Ethan Thibaudeau from the University of New Hampshire, Micro Electrode Tube Non-Circular Flaring Process and Desktop Micro Flaring System by Weichao Wu from Northwestern University, Smart Tool Torque Calibration Test Stand by Lauren Heimann and Anthony Morin from the University of New Hampshire, Paintbrush Rework Standard Operating Procedure by Michael Church et al. from Oregon State University, and G.I.A.N.T. – Wind Turbine Model by Lauren Malahosky from Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute.

All of the participants did a tremendous job on their projects and presentations. Selecting the top three award winners was very difficult. I wish to also acknowledge Cedric Xia from Ford Motor Company and Matthew Bement from Los Alamos National Laboratory for also serving as judges.